National A. A. U. Basketball Tournament

College Champions

     The Amateur Athletic Union held an annual National basketball tournament through the 1960's. Up until the 1940's, college teams would enter the tournament as well as various other amateur teams. A.A.U. squads would be older than the college boys, but there were three times that college fives took the A.A.U. title. These National Champions are listed here:

New York University  1920
 at Atlanta, Georgia:
  First Round:

March 10  N.Y.U. 86 - Houston Y.M.C.A. 21
March 11  N.Y.U. 35 - Los Angeles Athletic Club 22
March 12  N.Y.U. 45 - Kansas City Athletic Club 22  (other semi: Rutgers 33 - Young Mens Order of Detroit 17)
March 13  N.Y.U. 46 - Rutgers 24

Butler University  1924
 at Kansas City, Missouri:

March 15  Butler 30 - Kansas City A.C. 26

Washburn College (Topeka)  1925
 at Kansas City, Missouri:

March 14  Washburn 42 - Hillyards (St. Joseph, Mo.) 30

Team photo of 1920 N.Y.U. Violet A.A.U. Basketball Champions.
1920 A.A.U. Basketball Champions - New York University.

For much more sports history, go to the list of amazing sports lists.
This list compiled and designed by P.S.Luchter.
  Updated 2/2/2005.

©All Rights Reserved.